hengalaosai

Posted on

wah major stress i tell you. no school also stress.

i ordered stuff from old navy 2 days ago and i received this email from their customer service dept to call them for verification because there is ‘insufficient billing information’. otherwise, my order will be cancelled.

i assumed they needed an approval code, because for F21, they emailed me to specifically ask me to reply with my bank’s authorization code for the transaction and that was it. very simple.

wah lao this old navy want me to CALL their frigging US office just to confirm that im not committing credit card fraud. well i guess its a good thing, but then i have to pay extra $ for calling them!

want to wear a pair of US$2.50 slippers also must pay $7 for shipping WITHIN the US to Singapore’s vpost office, plus charges to call them and verify that im not a thief who needs new slippers.

k nvm. you want me to call? i call. that’s how badly i want my slippers.

next, i spent 1 hour trying to figure out how to call an international number. consulted online forums via google, asked 5 people for help and finally realised that i can’t call with my hp because im underaged for IDD. so i used mummy’s phone instead. piang you won’t imagine how much relief i felt when i heard some angmoh slanging on the other line, instead of the piercingly annoying error tone when i used my house and handphone.

and US is damn good cos their customer service phone lines direct you immediately to an operator, dont have “Please press 1 for English, press 2 for Mandarin, press 3 for Malay, ….., press * if you really have so much time to listen to me rambling about all the possible options i can think of using numbers 0 to 9”

but that means that i didn’t have time to mentally prepare myself to speak to an angmoh operator. haha damn cultural cringe one la i know, but its nerve wrecking and unfamiliar to hear someone on the other line whos slanging because shes white. lol and she was totally blur when i read out my address, with all the block blah blah and hdb-related jargons that angmohs dont get.

the call was dreadfully long though. cos she had to put me on hold so that she could call dbs (omg, which means that she had to spend time navigating through all those ‘please press 1 for‘ options!) to verify my cc details.

then dbs called me and we had a nice conference call with the angmoh from oldnavy. haha could tell that the dbs operator didn’t understand the angmoh when she was reading out my particulars with maximum slang possible.

anyway 23 minutes and 20 seconds later, my order is finally approved. any longer and i would’ve been compelled to slang as well. i was already speaking my best version of English, the one i use only at English Oral Examinations can. and i tell you im damn sway la, cos these checks are conducted RANDOMLY. wah lao. first get banned from sgflea, now this.

luckily when i called singtel later, they told me the call would be chargeable under IDD. so for US, its $0.39 a minute. SIBEH HENG AH. otherwise 1 pair of US$2.50 slippers would become as nightmarishly expensive as havaianas.

at least this is one thing that i finally managed to get right all week! still feeling demoralised about sgflea cos they havent replied me, which means i’m still blacklisted, banned, criminalized ))): well but yesterday matin told me he got banned from ebay for smt small also, so i feel a little bit better about myself now hahaha.

sentosa tml! yay!
sun had better be well-behaved this time around!

Leave a comment